Order of Battle
Battle of Empress Augusta Bay
2 November 1943
Contributed by Dan Muir

Imperial Japanese Navy (IJN)

Sentai 5
CA  Myoko
    Rear Admiral Sentaro Omori – Force Commander
CA Haguro

CL Agano
 Rear Admiral Hiroshi Matsubara  - Destroyer Squadron Commander

Destroyer Squadron 3
CL Sendai*  – Flagship
     Rear Admiral Matsuji Ijuin –  Commander

Destroyer Squadron 3, Destroyer Division 27
DD Shigure            Lt. Commander Kimio Yamaguchi
    Captain Tamechi Hara – Division Commander
DD Samidare         Lt. Commander Yoshiro Sugihara
DD Shiratsuyu        Lt. Commander Kuro Matsuda

Destroyer Squadron 2
DD Naganami         Commander Tsutae Kumabe

Destroyer Squadron 10
DD Hatsukaze*        Commander Buichi Ashida
DD Wakasuki           Commander Yasuatsu Suzuki

United States Navy (USN)

Task Force 39 (TF 39)

Cruiser Division 12
CL Montpelier
    Rear Admiral Aaron S. ‘Tip’ Merrill – Force Commander
CL Cleveland
CL Columbia
CL Denver

Destroyer Squadron 23, Division 45
DD Charles F. Ausburne        Commander Luther K. Reynolds
    Captain Arleigh A. Burke – Squadron Commander
DD Dyson                                Commander R. A. Gano
DD Stanley
DD Claxton

Destroyer Squadron 23, Division 46
DD Spence
    Commander B. L. ‘Count’ Austin – Division Commander
DD Thatcher
DD Converse                            Commander D. C. Hamberger
DD Foote


1. ‘Japanese Cruisers of the Pacific War’ by E. LaCroix & L. Wells III.
2. ‘Warship Profile #9, USS Charles Ausburne’ by Commander W. Cracknell, USN.
3. ‘The Battle History of the Imperial Japanese Navy (1941-1945)’ by P. Dull.
4. ‘Chronology of the War at Sea 1939-1945’ by J. Rohwer & G. Hummelchen.
5. ‘Japanese Destroyer Captain’ by Captain T. Hara.
6. ‘Nihon Kaigun’ website at http://www.skypoint.com/~jbp/kaigun.htm
see Allyn Nevitt’s ‘Long Lancer’s’ section.